Sunday, February 8, 2009

25 Years for Hendrick Motorsports

The 2009 Sprint Cup Series is also the 25th Anniversary of Hendrick Motorsports. Back in 1984, Rick started out with one team and five full-time employees.Nowadays, Hendrick Motorsports employs over 500 people and has five teams.

In 25 years, they have celebrated 8 Sprint Cup Series championships, 3 Camping World Truck Series titles, 1 Nationwide Series crown, 175 Sprint Cup Series victories, 28 Nationwide Series wins, and 25 Camping World Truck Series victories. Also in 25 years, Rick has been able to have some of the best talent in the sport. These drivers including Geoff Bodine, Ricky Rudd,Terry Labonte, Todd Bodine, Kyle Busch, Casey Mears, Mark Martin, Darrell Waltrip, Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Brian Vickers, David Green, Tim Richmond, Ken Schrader, Ricky Craven, Jerry Nadeau, Joe Nemechek, and Dale Earnhardt, Jr.

For the 2009 season some of the best talent in the sport will drive for Hendrick Motorsports including Jeff Gordon, Jimmie Johnson, Mark Martin, Brad Keselowski, and Dale Earnhardt, Jr. Before the start of yesterday's Daytona 500 practice. 4 of the 5 drivers in the Hendrick Motorsports stable took to the track in specially designed silver cars, and posed for pictures. This will be a special season for Rick Hendrick and everyone at HMS. As a Dale Jr fan, I look foward to enjoying the 2009 season. Hopefully, it will include many victories by Dale Jr and who knows, even a championship. Congratulations Rick on 25 years!