Saturday, March 14, 2009

Changes to the NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star Event

The NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star race will have a different format in May. Yesterday during a press conference at the track, Marcus Smith(President of Lowe’s Motor Speedway) refused to elaborate but said it would be interesting. The main point of the news conference was to promote the 2nd Annual Burnout Contest and to announce that former WWF superstar Ric Flair would be the honorary all-star race director. After the conference, Smith talked very brief about this year’s all-star format. He kept referring to it as a 100-lap event, instead of the traditional 4 25-lap segments. NASCAR spokesman Ramsey Poston refused to comment on the changes. This years event will be televised on SpeedTV and will be on May 16th. This year it is the 25th running of the All-Star event, and will include a free concert for ticket holders before the race with special guests Montgomery Gentry.

As of today here are the drivers racing in the 25th NASCAR Sprint Cup All-Star event:
-Ryan Newman
-Carl Edwards
-Kyle Busch
-Jeff Burton
-Denny Hamlin
-Jimmie Johnson
-Clint Bowyer
-Kasey Kahne
-Dale Earnhardt, Jr
-Kurt Busch
-Greg Biffle
-Tony Stewart
-Matt Kenseth
-David Stremme(because of Ryan Newman winning the Daytona 500 last February)
-Casey Mears(because of Clint Bowyer winning at Richmond last May)
-Joey Logano(because of Tony Stewart’s victory at Talladega)
-Jeff Gordon
-Bobby Labonte
-Kevin Harvick
-Mark Martin